Proposal to add World Formula to club racing

Forum for LO206 & Chonda classes

Moderators:Jay Kleinheinz, Paul Jones, Mark Chandler, Scott Boone, Matt Blehm

Patrick Roth
The master poster
Proposal to add World Formula to club racing

Post by Patrick Roth » Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:11 am

My plan for racing in 2016 didn't quite go as planned as I fully intended to continue racing my shifter at the club level and do some of the bigger events that caught my interest. In addition I intended to race a World Formula at all the TSRS races because I really enjoyed racing the series in it's inaugural year (2015) and it was clear the series and the WF class was going to grow. Unfortunately I work in the oil and gas business and the challenging business conditions made me rethink my 2016 plans and I parked my shifter after only 1 club race. However, I was able to follow through on racing the WF at the TSRS and was able to compete against some pretty fast racers and had a blast!

With that being said, I somewhat questioned where the WF would fit in at the club level and based on some conversations I've had with people, it may actually be a good addition so I'm proposing that we add the WF to club racing and am starting this topic to get feedback on my proposal and gauge interest.

I would propose the WF be a "Masters" class with a minimum age of 30. Weight would be 375 lbs, which matches the 206 class. Tires would be MG Reds or a similar tire that would be expected to get at least 3 competitive races out of. The class would run with the 206's so an additional heat is not requested. Engine/clutch rules would equal that of the TSRS series. The WF is approximately 2 seconds a lap faster at GCKI than the 206 so it is a step up, primarily due to it's increased RPM.