Upgrading an old shifter to a Chonda with questions

Forum for LO206 & Chonda classes

Moderators:Jay Kleinheinz, Paul Jones, Mark Chandler, Scott Boone, Matt Blehm

John Norgaard
Upgrading an old shifter to a Chonda with questions

Post by John Norgaard » Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:50 pm

Hi everyone I'm John and I'm new to karting. I live in College Station and have seen shifter karts at our Texas World Speedway many years ago. For some reason they don't race there anymore. Recently I had the opportunity to purchase a 2008 Italkart Supersonic with a K9b engine. The kart had been neglected, but now I have it cleaned up and the chrome polished. When I bought the kart I did not realize how much the K9b would cost for rebuilds. Now I'm thinking about setting it aside and placing a Chonda on the frame. I have been reading the 2013 GCK class specifications and I don't understand some of the wording. An example, "Venturi .615" NO-GO", what does the NO-GO mean? The engine I'm looking at purchasing is from ARC Racing.

http://www.arcracing.com/servlet/the-20 ... 6.5/Detail

Other parts that I need to purchase are; rear sprocket 50mm, chain, clutch, exhaust and a steel fly wheel. Did I forget anything? I'm looking at the chains and I don't know if I need a #219 or a #35. What size sprockets do I need for the clutch and the rear?

I've also read something about no new tires unless they have been scrubbed. What does that mean?

Is there a Chonda class for the gx390?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Brad Johnson
The master poster

Re: Upgrading an old shifter to a Chonda with questions

Post by Brad Johnson » Sun Mar 24, 2013 9:55 pm