Getting started

Kid Karter Topics

Moderators:Jay Kleinheinz, Paul Jones, Mark Chandler, Scott Boone, Matt Blehm

Jacob Mitchell
Getting started

Post by Jacob Mitchell » Wed Jan 20, 2016 3:28 pm

Well when my daughter was young I tried to get my wife to let me get her involved with karting or Jr dragster since that is where my background is and she was not having it. Now that my son will be 4 this year I am looking to get him started. I have seen multiple different brand karts with a wide variety of pricing and wanted to get some advice. Looks to me that a kid kart is good for several years so I am less concerned about spending the money on a quality chassis from the start however in the event he doesnt take to it as I suspect I really want to be out 4-6k vs 2-3k. That being said where should I look for a decent starter kart for a 4 year old? I am guessing I should grab something myself so I can guide him around on the track for a while until he gets the hang of it? He has powerwheel, a fourwheeler and has no issues, granted this is a bit different however the principle is the same more-less and I dont feel he will have much of a problem.

Any guidance would be very much appreciated.

Jacob Mitchell

david mckee
The master poster

Re: Getting started

Post by david mckee » Wed Jan 20, 2016 5:23 pm

He has to be 5 years old to enter into a race I believe, you can check the rules on the age requirements, he can practice.