New Member - Kid Kart father looking for advice

Kid Karter Topics

Moderators:Jay Kleinheinz, Paul Jones, Mark Chandler, Scott Boone, Matt Blehm

Scott Allen
Rookie Poster
New Member - Kid Kart father looking for advice

Post by Scott Allen » Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:17 pm

I am a new member to the forum and wanted to introduce myself. My name is Scott Allen and I was at at the track a month or so ago to see if my son was interested in getting into karting and he definitely was....but was disappointed when all we did was stand around and talk to other members, and he didn't get to do any racing.

After looking around, I did find a Birel Kart for sale that I just picked up today for him. I am going to run it over to 3G Karts tomorrow to have it looked over. While I am very interested in cars and racing, I am completely new to the world of karting. My only experience is your basic track days at MSR, Track 21, etc... My oldest son (Kai) just turned 6 years old last month and my youngest son (Ari) is 3 1/2, so hopefully we can get together with some other dads to learn some basics when it comes to kart racing. We live in SW Katy near 1093 and 1463. I will probably start my youngest son around 4yrs old. He is far more physically advanced for his age than my older son was at that time, so I'm hoping that he will also find interest in karting and we can have some good family memories racing.